Check Out My New Trivia Blog


Since March 2011 I’ve been writing a weekly trivia quiz presented every Tuesday night at Cups Coffee & Tea in Roanoke, VA.  It’s kinda like a traditional “pub quiz,” except without the beer, fried food, or unruly drunk people. (The people are still, occasionally, unruly, but they’re less likely to punch you in the face or puke on your shoes at the end of the night.)

Michelle Bennett, the Proprietor of Cups, serves as the Master of Ceremonies, leading teams of competitors through two rounds of trivia questions about history, literature, geography, science, sports, pop culture, politics, and just about anything else I can think of.  The teams with the most correct answers at the end of the second round win gift certificates for the goodies on sale at either of the two Cups locations (1402 Grandin Road or 2825 Brambleton Avenue).

The quiz is a hoot and I devote way more time researching and writing questions than I should.  I’ve got a couple years worth of questions in my files already and I’m writing more every day.  I’ve loved the positive feedback I’ve received from the regular quizzers and loved even more the comments, suggestions, and questions I get from them after each quiz. Inspired by the regulars, I’ve started a second blog focusing on the quiz.  It includes info about previous quiz questions, hints about upcoming categories, and some extra information that I was excited about discovering but that, try-as-I-might, I couldn’t fit into the form of a good question for the quiz.

If you’re interested in trivia, check out the blog.  If you’re interested in playing and find yourself in the Roanoke area, stop by on Tuesday night. The quiz starts at 7:00 p.m.

See you there.

This entry was posted in Cultural and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

