Dramatic Relationships


I got a number of responses to my previous post about “Playwrights Whose Plays I Can Be Friends With….”  Some people wanted to know what plays I liked.  As is my custom, I’ve decided to take this whole thing way too far.

Playwrights Whose Plays I Want to Marry

(which—I hope you’ll understand—is different than “Playwrights I Want to Marry”)

  • Euripides
  • Henrik Ibsen
  • Moliere
  • Marivaux
  • Jean Anouilh

Playwrights Whose Plays I Have a Major Crush On Right Now

  • Itamar Moses
  • Adam Bock
  • Keith Bunin
  • Lucy Thurber
  • David Lindsay-Abaire
  • Doug Wright
  • Neil LaBute
  • Will Eno

Playwrights Whose Plays I’m Willing to Have a One Night Stand With

(but nothing long term, and we’d certainly not use the “L” word)

  • Richard Greenberg
  • Harold Pinter
  • Kenneth Lonergan
  • Paula Vogel
  • Noel Coward
  • Donald Marguiles
  • Joe Orton
  • Nicky Silver
  • Carlo Goldoni
  • Lanford Wilson
  • John Guare
  • David Mamet
  • Marsha Norman
  • Eric Overmeyer
  • Craig Lucas

Playwrights Whose Plays I Flirt With, Knowing Nothing Serious Will Ever Come of It

  • Friedrich Schiller
  • Caryl Churchill
  • Douglas Carter Beane
  • Steven Dietz
  • Georges Feydeau
  • Eugene Ionesco
  • Jean Giraudoux
  • Terence Rattigan
  • Sophie Treadwell
  • Thornton Wilder
  • Christopher Durang

Playwrights Whose Plays Are Hot, but Who I Try Not to Even Think About Because They’re Way Out of My League

  • Tom Stoppard
  • Tony Kushner
  • Suzan-Lori Parks
  • Arthur Miller
  • Samuel Beckett
  • Christopher Marlowe
  • Luigi Pirandello
  • Anton Chekhov

Playwrights Whose Plays I’d Drunkenly Hook-up With at a Party (and regret it the next morning)

  • Aeschylus
  • John Webster
  • August Strindberg
  • Martin McDonough
  • Erwin Piscator
  • Sarah Kane
  • Jean Racine
  • Georg Buchner
  • Lope de Vega
  • Carlo Gozzi
  • Vaclav Havel

Mopeds

  • Neil Simon
  • Paul Rudnick
  • Larry Shue
  • A.R. Gurney
  • Alexander Dumas
  • Edmond Rostand
  • William Inge

I’m sure there are others I’ve left out.

This entry was posted in Cultural, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dramatic Relationships

  1. C-mor says:

    Beckett is my playwright crush. I would date him, do him, and marry him. All while reading his plays at the same time. Shakespeare is my other. We have some serious affairs. And thanks to YOU, Itamar Moses is my new McDreamy. Also Sarah Ruhl is my Playwright who I would have a full first time lesbian experience with. For real.

  2. katie says:

    don’t regret mcdonough! although i suppose i always have a thing for the bad boys.

    katie.

  3. Mike says:

    Mr. LeBute continues to hold me close. Sometimes I get away for awhile with Kushner, Parks, or Guirgis on certain days, but LeBute tends to know what I want. Sometimes he likes to use the same old tricks, but I never complain. I just get pulled in.

    • docdlp says:

      Mr. LaBute would be pleased to know he has a hold on you. He, and everyone in the world with a French prefix in their name, however, would be displeased that you changed his gender from LaBute to LeBute.

  4. Michal says:

    I agree with the majority of these! And I laughed at most of them due to how accurately they were categorized. Then I tried to show my mom, who barely knew any of them and indicated to me that I may be reading too many plays… (I am still aiming for 5 plays a week. It’s a trip. One week was all Sam Shepard.)

Leave a Reply

