Here’s the plan…


A blog?  Sure.  Why not?  There are certainly worse things I could be doing with my free time.

I’ve been thinking about this for a while now and here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

Things I’ll likely include:

  • trenchant analyses of news, culture and politics;
  • meandering, disputable rants evincing a certain curmudgeonliness;
  • lists of things that capture my attention and tacitly demand correlation;
  • insupportable knee-jerk reactions followed (eventually) by more level-headed reconsiderations;
  • recommendations, reviews, and persnickety evaluations; and
  • the occasional picture and/or video of animals doing cute, ridiculous, or otherwise remarkable things.

Things I’ll strive valiantly to exclude but that may, nonetheless, crop up from time to time:

  • embarrassing typos and/or grammatical gaffes;
  • snarky comments about the misbehavior of teenaged celebrities who, through no fault of their own, just really don’t know any better;
  • desperate pleas for pity; and
  • fairness or any semblance of presumed objectivity.

Things I promise to never do here:

  • ask you to become a farmer, mob boss, or vampire (on Facebook or in real life);
  • suggest that if you don’t convert to my religion you’ll face an eternity in the bowels of hell;
  • post nude baby pictures;
  • endorse people or products I don’t really believe in;
  • expect you to agree with me 100%; or
  • apologize profusely for not posting anything new in a while.

So that’s the plan.  Occasional comments.  When I feel like it.  No grand plan to take over the world.  Just some thoughts.

Here are a few things I’m planning to write about in the upcoming days, weeks, and months:

  • the word “random” and why its misuse bothers me
  • the motif of parenthood on Lost
  • George Rekers and his rentboy
  • Starbucks and Seattle’s Best
  • Vampires

Stay tuned.

This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

